TWO Finished Projects!

2 Mar

ribbed-scarf-2.jpg

So here’s that scarf I posted about a while back.  I also finished it a while back too, but only just got around to snapping some pictures last night. 

ribbed-scarf-1.jpg

Since then, I’ve been working on a sweater for my little boy Collin (a striped boatneck in garter stitch), learned to knit in the round on circular and double-pointed needles, started some mittens in seed stitch then frogged it because I did my gauge on straight needles rather than on the DP’s (rookie mistake, I’m sure), and am now attempting to make a hat without a pattern.  Yeah, we’ll see how that goes.  I’m assuming it’ll be a learning experience.  I also learned increases by doing the Kitschy Kerchief from the ever so popular Stitch ‘n Bitch book.  I love bandanas and this one’s so cute, I think I’ll stitch up a few more in some other colors.  Their good for bad hair days, normal hair days, camping, hiking, and for those occasions that you have to run to the store when you haven’t yet showered.

kercheif-1.jpg

One thing I’ve found frustrating about knitting, is in order to make things, one must have the correct size and type of needles and the right amount and kind of yarn.  Well folks, that costs money.  So instead, I sit with big eyes and twitchy hands looking at all the things I can’t wait to knit up, but realize I have to wait because I already spent my “limit” on some needles and yarn for the scarves.  Hobbies are expensive! 

But I have the hat to tide me over at least.  The hat with no pattern.  I don’t have a pattern because that happens to be another thing that has been a bit difficult to find.  The patterns I do have all call for the needles I have yet to get.  Sigh.  I’ll get there eventually though.

© Media Knits 2008

One Response to “TWO Finished Projects!”

  1. shirley March 4, 2008 at 11:42 pm #

    Dear Paige, Fancy meeting you here on a dual website. I found the movie thing a bit confusing at first, but I guess I get it now: you are just for fun reviewing a recently seen movie and also for other people’s possible interest.

    I watched a movie this morning that I’ve seen many times, but I can highly reccommend it. the name: The Little Foxes. The actors: Bette Davis, Theresa Wright and others. The story: wess, I won’t tell you the story, but it is turn of the century, a family drama, and great!

    As to the knitting projects: I love them!!! You are doing wonderfully well and I’m glad you are having so much fun. I believe purl is spelled that way, though I could be wrong. Love you.

Leave a Reply

