Birthday Crafts

25 Mar

collin-crown.jpg

Happy 2nd Birthday Sweet Boy!

For Collin’s birthday, I really wanted to make him a crown and a banner.  Since I was staying at my mom’s for most of last week, I decided to take advantage of her sewing prowess and her very large stock of fabric.  I drew the shape of the crown and picked out the fabric.  She so kindly let me use one of her hand-dyed felts that I thought was so very beautiful.  She did a quick sew from my pattern and voila, we had a crown. 

bday-crown-detail.jpg 

b-day-crown.jpg

I picked out a flannel to line the inside, cut it out and glued it on the cardboard.  A few stars glued here and it was just about finished.  I made it a few inches bigger than Collin’s head so that he could where it in the years to come.  A few dots of sticky-backed velcro made it the right size and as luck would have it, the points lined up perfectly!

velcro-detail.jpg 

Next came the banner.  I had seen a banner on Soule Mama (love that blog!) and thought it was an excellent idea not to buy some plastic-y or paper one that might not last through the years.  Besides, a homemade one just has a different feel to it. 

hbday-banner.jpg

I decided on triangles with backgrounds of varying colors.  We picked out a sparkly dark blue felt for the letters and rick rack to hold it all together.  My mom picked out the pretty rainbow ribbon too, which was such a great addition. 

banner-heart.jpg

banner-letters.jpg 

She sewed it up the night before the party, while I was at home baking my very first chocolate layered cake.  It was lots of fun, despite the late hours, and I especially liked melting the chocolate with the double-boiler method.  I used America’s Test Kitchen’s Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cake recipe.  Delish!  It was also my first time frosting a cake (which I did the next morning) and that too was satisfyingly fun.

cake.jpg

See the cake? Yum! 

The birthday turned out very well and I just can’t believe my sweet little boy is two!  I won’t get too sentimental here, but believe me, the tears certainly welled up a few times as I looked at him with my Mother eyes.  Sweet, sweet wonderful boy!

fire-engine.jpg

He loves this gift from his Grandpa! 

We got him a wood kitchen which I was very excited about.  Definitely a toy to grow with.  He loves cooking on it and playing with the food.  

copy-of-p3230035.jpg 

He got great gifts from family and friends and he had such a fun time!  I don’t think he wanted the party to be over, he was loving all of the playtime with other kids.

ring-around-the-rosies.jpg

I’m so glad he has family near to celebrate with and friends as well.  Only wish all of our family could be near! 

 bday-pics-for-collin.jpg   

One of his gifts from his Neema (my Mom).  So sweet!

© Media Knits 2008

2 Responses to “Birthday Crafts”

  1. Meri March 27, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Collin!
    What wonderful birthday party you must have had!
    PS: Great persistence to learn to knit from the net! I haven’t knit for over 15 years… And my daughter is turning 2 on April 4th… I will check on you again… and maybe re-start with a scarf myself…?

  2. Paige March 29, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    Hi Meri! The party was a lot of fun. Your daughters birthday is just three days before mine. I love spring birthdays. I hope you do decide to knit again, if you enjoy it. I’ve had SO much fun with it!

Leave a Reply

