Sew Excited!

4 Apr

 

See this?  This is mine.  It belongs to me. Moi.  It may not be a top of the line sewing machine (although it’s a brand I know), but again – it’s all mine.  Best of all, I got it for free from Freecycle.  I did have to pay a few bucks for cleaning, a small repair and, some parts, but it was cheap enough.  This is big for me.  I am so excited!  

Here was my first project on it.  Yeah, it’s a napkin.  The bottom photo is a close-up of my wonky sewing.  I know, don’t pull the fabric, just gently guide it along.

I made it from a very special shirt that belonged to my sister Dana.  I didn’t wear it anymore, and I felt like it should be put to use by someone – but I couldn’t give it away.  I’ll be using the rest of it too, I just don’t know for what yet. 

 

Here is my other project.  It’s a bit silly and I wasn’t trying to be exact in any way.  I was just wondering how to make a grocery tote.  I used my EcoBags as an example, but I just couldn’t quite figure it out – so I made a miniature one to wrap my mind around it.  Now I get it.  Can’t wait to make me some full-size ones.  I need just a couple more to fit all of my groceries.  The clerk usually has to use two-three plastic baggies – and we know that ain’t good. 

I have LOTS of projects swimming around in my head, and truthfully it’s a bit overwhelming.  I get so full of ideas that I kind of freeze with the thought of the whole process involved.  I just need to take things one at a time.  I’ve been making lots of sketches and scribbling things down in my crafting journal (for knitting, sewing, and the like) and that helps lessen the burden on my brain.  Does anyone else get that overwhelming, freeze ya in your tracks sort of thing?  It’s certainly contradicts the creative flow. 

Anywhoo, I can’t wait to get making things, I have lots to learn, some great books, and an AMAZING sewing Mother.  She makes the most BEAUTIFUL quilts!  True indeed.  Any sewing advice any of you out there would like to send my way – I will happily receive it! 

© Media Knits 2008

3 Responses to “Sew Excited!”

  1. Kate April 23, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    I have the exact same sewing machine!

  2. Paige April 25, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    Imagine that! So do you use it much?

  3. amyj May 31, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    Love it! My first sewing machine was MUCH older than I, and it did the job just fine. I FINALLY bit the bullet and bought a new a few years back, and it baffled me for months. It sat there, mocking me with it’s technical advances, and it was months before I finally put the old one aside and tried my hand at the new one. Congrats, and happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

