Bandanna Shorts

8 Jun

Shorts for just five bucks! (And the thing hanging on the back of the chair - that's an apron I made out of a men's dress shirt! I'll post on that later.)

With scraps left over to play with.

I made these super simple shorts for Collin a couple of weeks ago. I was so excited because I had been planning on making them for over a year! I love to sew, but in reality, I don’t have a whole lot to show for it. So each time I finish a project, I always feel so accomplished and proud of myself. Easy as these were, I still felt so pleased to have done them. Collin loves them, and the 100% cotton is so light and airy – perfect for hot summer days. I plan on making a few more colors for him. And I’m hoping to make an A-line skirt for me. We’ll see how that goes. It’ll be my first, and I’m just hoping it’ll work with the bandannas. Here’s the pattern I used that you can print off. My pattern’s actually a little bit different as it is black and white and minus the kid illustrations and the like. Must be an earlier version. She also offers a step-by-step picture tutorial for the shorts here. I did these a bit differently in order to make sure they fit Collin. For instance, it says to cut the ‘J’ two inches in and ten inches down. But that wouldn’t have worked for Collin. I took a pair of shorts that fit him and used that ‘J’. And I used the length of his shorts as well. This made them fit perfectly and not be too long, nor too wide but with a fitted waist.

If you make them, let me know!

3 Responses to “Bandanna Shorts”

  1. Katie June 9, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    Those are darling! I can’t wait to see the skirt—-I’m a selfish sewer and more likely to make something for myself than my kids. I think the last thing I sewed for the boys was cowboy shirts their first Halloween—they were super hard so now I stick to placemat purses for me.

  2. Kari July 21, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I love them!! I want to make some girly ones for Jayci now! Are they easy?

  3. Lindsey September 14, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    How crafty you are! Those shorts look super cute. I love to sew as well, but find myself caught up with other things.

Leave a Reply

