Cookbooks and Dragon Tattoos

22 Aug

Ever force yourself to finish a book just to see how it ends? One that was hard to get into in the first place? One that you find yourself despising as you get further into it? And to top it all off, when you get to the end the only joy comes from being finished. Ugh. This book I speak of, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larson. In saying this, I feel as if I’m deviating from the masses. It’s a #1 National Bestseller after all, but does that always translate to a book being great? Apparently, not in my book.

There were several things that irked me regarding this book, but most tiresome was that it took over 200 pages to get interesting! What editor allows that? How can it have reviews such as “beautifully paced” (The Boston Globe), “an absolute page turner” (Portsmouth Herald – New Hampshire), and most puzzling, “the definition of a page-turner” (Time Out New York)? The definition?! May I remind you, slowest start in literary history (It’s got to be in the top 10)! Over 200 pages for any sort of action! How could that be any sort of description of a page turner???

A waste of my time. Time that could have been spent reading a book I might have enjoyed. And believe me, I have lots of catching up to do. I periodically suffer absences from reading (like the gigantic one during my high school years) and those just can’t be made back up. Sad.

So you might surmise that I will not be reading the second or third book in this series. I’m so OK with that. If you liked or even loved this book, remember that my opinion is just that – mine. It doesn’t necessarily mean the book is actually bad, just that I didn’t like it in the least.

Did you like this book? Did you read any others from the series? Did you go against the masses and dislike it as did I?

Now I am reading the Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman. This one excites me and I am already enjoying it…from the beginning and all. Have you read this book?

2 Responses to “Cookbooks and Dragon Tattoos”

  1. nevermix August 31, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    The Cookbook Collector is amazing. I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Paige August 31, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Enjoying it immensely thus far! What a great storyteller and character painter she is!

Leave a Reply

