On Friendship

16 Sep

Pre Thanksgiving Dinner at Jenny's. L to R: Nichole, Megan, Lora, Jenny, Paige (Me), Haylie, and Christa behind me. We were having a 'fashion show' with Jenny's clothes. :)

I love my circle of friends.  A circle of trees with limbs and branches, reaching into a wide assortment of interconnected people.  It’s truly the greatest group out there I could possibly imagine.  Made of young and old, and the very young (four babies as the most recent inductees!), it supports relationships of families and of the self. The foundations have been built on commraderie and community. On love. On the human experience. I feel very lucky indeed to be a part of this amazing group of people.

Tonight some of us met up at Haylie’s for what has been named Tequila Thursdays. These have ranged from the wild to the mild, but always a good time. I, myself, had a tasty  Bloody Mary – virgin, of course, made by Tink, Tucker and Haylie’s dad. He’s always so kind as to mix me up a drink. Haylie made some delicious spicy chicken tacos and her yummy salsa, while Lora brought her queso-like dip, whick disapeared quickly. Mmmm. Good food and better friends.

We meet up atleast once every week, if not more. Always on Mondays – which is named the Church of the Willy Nilly.  Different combinations of people enter the mix, but there’s generally a core of regulars. The group has morphed and burgeoned along the way, and I can’t say for sure when it started, but it was created by the late Bill Studebaker. Unfortunately, I know more of him from others than I do from personal encounters, as those were but few. He sure did have a vision for the bonds of friendship.

Through the belonging of this group I have gained more self-esteem, lived more daringly, lightened up, found dear friends, and even fell in love!

Again, I feel so very lucky to have these wonderful people in my life.

3 Responses to “On Friendship”

  1. Jaime Lee September 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    This was a very lovely blog. I really loved the last few lines and this makes me very happy for you.

    • Paige September 16, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Thank you Jaime. Love ya!

  2. Jenny Hefner September 17, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    wow! This brought some tears! I have never had a group of girls in my life that I love and rely as much as you all. Thank you so much for saying what too often goes unsaid Paige. I love these ladies, their children, husbands/partners and our many adventures!

Leave a Reply

