A Chill Outside = Roast in the Oven.

17 Oct

I’m in the midst of searing some beef for a pot roast dinner – donning an apron because why else did I sew the thing? (I suppose shielding my clothes from the popping hot oil qualifies for the practical side.)  The searing of meat is proving to be rather satisfying – sizzling and browning there in my light blue dutch oven. What isn’t satisfying but is instead utterly revolting? Raw meat. I am one who is thoroughly disgusted by raw meat. Blood pooled into pockets of plastic. Dripping out into the garbage can as I struggle to free the meat. Ugh. Being pregnant only makes it doubly worse. I know some of you out there think this is silly, but I can’t help the repulsion, and I do still cook. But if there’s someone else in the kitchen I gladly let the task fall upon them. The only satisfaction I received from this portion of the process was to find the blood stained cotton twine. Yea! See, I was going to just not tie the roast since I had no twine and no desire to run to the grocery store on my day off. I work at a grocery store after all. (By the by…make that three days off, this being the first. It’s. Wonderful.)

I’ve never used this recipe before. Matter of fact, I’ve only cooked a pot roast a handful of times. I’m not sure how this came to be possible, being the staple it is –  not to mention how simple it is. Could be that I got enough of a fix from the times I ate it at my mom’s over the years. Whatever the case of my pot roast neglect, it’ll be fixed by the fact that I have two roasts nestled in the freezer.

The recipe comes from America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook. One I swear by, swoon  over, refer to, and torture my mom with. “ATK recommends…ATK prefers…ATK says…” She’s no doubt held back from pinching me a time or two…or fifty.

Behind the sound of sizzling meat can be heard the American Public Media podcast, Dinner Party Download. A fun and informative show offering a joke, an interesting historical tid bit that is accompanied by a mixed drink recipe, a guest, and a song. Excellent for cooking to.

Pot roast is one of those perfect meals. Meat and veg happily cooking together. Swapping flavors. Making a square meal. Then come the leftovers: cold slices dipped into mustard or horse radish and of course, roast beef sandwiches. Mmmm.

——-

The roast is now in the oven to cook for 3 & 1/2 hours before I add some veggies – turning every 30 minutes. Then an additional 45 minutes to an hour of cook time. After roast and vegetables get removed from the pot, red wine is added to the juice to simmer and the juice gets served at the table. Sounds divine. A perfect dinner for our rainy, windy weather. Biting cold that Southern Idaho wind is. But cozy inside. And my house smells amazing!

Leave a Reply

