Twenty Twelve

3 Jan

Already working towards # 9

The New Year. I haven’t made New Year’s Resolutions for quite some time, but this year, I thought I’d go ahead and do it. Why not?! Here’s 10:

1. Do science and art more with my son. (My real problem here is in the planning. If I can pick out a handful of projects for each week, and have them set up, I will succeed!)

2. Do household chores more consistently. (Ah, I am so lucky to have a Tucker! He is the most helpful guy. I’d like to fit in more of the chores though. I’m a here and there person, doing some of this, doing some of that. If I could just seatbelt myself in for a stretch of housework each day, I’d get a lot more done!)

3. Get better at executing weekly meal plans. (Love the planning, drooling over recipes, making lists…just need to make sure every meal planned and purchased for gets made! I do enjoy cooking -especially when Tucker and I get to do it to together – and I looove good food!) This leads me to the next one…

4. Have less food waste. (Much better than I ever was, but still could be better.

5. Do the things that make me happy!!!

6. Make, make, make! (Sewing, knitting, baking, crafting, and well, this encompasses a lot!)

7. Read more books. (Makes me sad when I haven’t made time for reading.)

8. Have our most awesome edible garden yet – and preserve the bounty! (Last years got fried by an overabundance of nitrogen when we used too much compost. It was not a glad moment.)

9. Be healthy. (Eat more fruit and veg, exercise, drink more water, have good posture, limit worry and stress, etc)

10. Be good to the earth. (Compost, recycle, consume less, get self and family out in nature, water wisely, organic and/or local eats, less plastic, etc)

I think I’ll leave it at 10! There’s lots more of course that I’ll be doing and improving and learning. Most important to me is the time spent with Family. Our home, our life, our love, – I’m going to cherish every moment and make many memories. I want my kids to look back and be grateful for the warm, safe, and loving home; for food cooked with love, for a fun, imaginative childhood, for caring and understanding parents who took the time to let them know that the kids are important and loved, who spent time playing with them and learning with them, and who put Family before everything else!

Happy New Year all! Much luck, good health, and happiness to you!

What resolutions are you making?

3 Responses to “Twenty Twelve”

  1. Kari January 4, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    There is a blog, smmartideas.blogspot.com, with lots of fun ideas. Science, math, music, art is what it stands for I think.

    These are great goals!

  2. Paige January 4, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Fun blog, Kari. Thanks for recommending it!

  3. Nema January 4, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    What a good list, dear Paige.

Leave a Reply

