Friday is Here and Chicken & Dumplings

2 Mar

I am glad to see the weekend come ’round. I look forward to not having the back and forth trips for Collin’s school and dance and Molly’s therapies. I was sick this week with a miserable cold. I canceled Molly’s therapies (except speech which is in-home) and my mom and Tucker helped several times with the to and from of school. I inadvertently missed Collin’s dance. And now I have a weekend to look forward to with no driving to and fro. Awwww. It really was nice not having to do all that driving and to have blocks of time rather than slivers. I’m finally starting to feel better enough to enjoy a relaxing weekend of knitting, cooking, and a Narnia: Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe Party.

Tucker read the Magician’s Nephew and the Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe (just finished this week) to Collin as his bedtime story. It warms my heart to have them reading together. Sharing the magic of books. Going on journeys together through stories. Collin has really enjoyed the books, and tomorrow night, we’ll watch the first movie together. We’ve decided to not continue on with the series until he’s a little older, just because my sister, Holly, said her son lost a little interest when it came to the third book.

We also just started the Adventures of Captain Underpants. I read the first book to the family in the evenings. Funny little books – made especially for kids! I’m interested in starting The Magic Tree House, as I heard it is very good. Have you or your kids read it?

Last night I made chicken and dumplings. I used the recipe from Cook’s Country: Best Lost SuppersIt’s from the America’s Test Kitchen people, and if you know me, you know I LOVE ATK. This cookbook is marvelous – chock full of ‘lost suppers’ from old cookbooks and recipes passed on in families through the generations. The meals are homey and comforting, with recipes like Chicken Vesuvio, Cheese Frenchees, Hunter’s Chicken, Horseradish Beef Stew, Screaming Noodles, International Dateline Chicken, and Preacher’s Delight. Each recipe has a family or historical story behind it, which adds to the enjoyment of eating the delicious meal. I borrowed the book from the library, and now I must buy it. Tucker’s always wanting more casseroles, and I’m more than happy to oblige – especially if it means getting another cookbook!

The chicken and dumplings filled the house with warmth and delightful aromas. The stew was full of shredded chicken from the dark meat of chicken thighs, and the dumplings were pillowy and creamy. Mmmm. My mom brought Collin home from school, and I scooped her up a dumpling with some stew. Collin had it for his afternoon snack. They both ate it up with gladness, which made me feel glad in turn. Tucker and I will finish it off for dinner tonight. Perfect for this cold windy day.

I’m wondering what the next book should be for Tucker and Collin to read together at bedtime…What books have you been enjoying with your kids?

Leave a Reply

