Chick Chicks!!

14 Mar

20120314-233529.jpg

Life is getting exciting! Spring is in the air, and plans are in the making. We did get our little snow storm as I predicted (with a titch more in the forecast), but the weather is warming and rain is falling and great things are happening!!

20120314-235310.jpg

This is a section of our backyard that will soon be housing a few animals…farm type critters…of the poultry set…chickens, to be exact!!! I’m so super ecstatic!

I have wanted backyard chickens for about 4-5 years, and FINALLY a feathered flock will call our place home!

Tucker was quite decided that next summer would be ideal for our chicken adventure, but a trip to the library and a book on coop plans made my mind up for this year.

Tucker’s main apprehension is the fact that we’re busy. Super busy. Especially him. Valid and completely true, but that’s why I planned on building the coop. By myself. Quickly and not ramshackled. With spotty building knowledge and all (though I did help build ten houses once upon a time!). I could totally do it – out of sheer determination and an “I’ll show you…as well as myself,” attitude; but it would take far longer than I’d like to wait; and there’d be far too much learn-as-you-go backtracking.

And truth be told, Tucker wants to be a part of it. He wants to be involved and do it with me – and I love that. And honestly, I just so happen to want his help, knowledge and skill…and, of course, his company.

The biggest, most time consuming project that takes as much of his free time as can be allowed, is the finishing of our basement. What an undertaking! But oh how fantastic the addition will be to the cramped quarters we’re habitating as of now!

Tucker is currently working on the electric and doing a cracking job of it! It’s moving along, and I can picture us hanging out in our family room, sewing in the craft room, book-lined shelves everywhere…I can’t wait!!! Well I can wait a little longer if it means we throw a chicken coop into the mix!!

20120315-003133.jpg

Happy Pi Day by the by!!!

Do you have backyard chickens? Or dreams of having them one day?

4 Responses to “Chick Chicks!!”

  1. jeffevraets March 15, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    Chickens are AWESOME! I just wrote an article on housing them that you mind find helpful. It’s not nearly as hard as some people make it sound. http://www.jeffevraets.com

    Much Success!
    Jeff

    • Paige March 15, 2012 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks Jeff – great info! Looking forward to future chicken posts!!

  2. Nema March 16, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    Love those beautiful yellow flowers! Jealous of your chicken plans; you know how fond I was of Harry Wu Cochin and his lovely hens. Can’t wait for spring/summer to burst upon us and I can tell its near.

    • Paige March 16, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Your flowers, so thank you. You’ll get plenty of opportunities to enjoy our chickens, as well as some eggs. :)

Leave a Reply

